RSS Feed

One Bite Steak and Potato

Posted on

One Bite Steak & Potato 1

If there was a perfect bite for you what would it be?  For me it would be steak and potato.  I am a meat and potatoes girl, they give me such joy!

I would be depressed if I could not have those simple joys in my life.  The thought of a piece of perfectly cooked beef that melts in your mouth accompanied with a potato that’s tender yet crispy and has a whispering of sea salt has me turning into Miracle Max from The Princess Bride, Mmmmmmmmm!

My friend, more like my frenemy, moderation wants me to be sure to insert the phrase – “in moderation”.  So meat and potatoes are fabulous IN MODERATION and should go with a balanced meal that includes vegetables.

There have been books published and an Oprah episode recently pushing for a more vegetarian/vegan society but I say pish posh.  I think we need beef, chicken, pork, and the list can go on … it has essentials that we need and it is just down right goo-ood!

It’s a circle of life I gladly complete on a daily basis however every one is entitled to their opinion and should follow their own bliss.  I just know a faux piece of beef will never make me happy and a mushroom could never replace my love of beef – it can complement my beef though.

This posting is my entry for the February Kitchen Play Menu that was thankfully extended to March 6, 2011.   The sponsor for this particular menu is Canadian Beef and after reading about how their cows are raised and are fed I have another reason to love Canada.

Did you know that United States is the largest exporter of Canadian beef?  The U.S. exports 77.5 percent. I had no clue either, the more you know.

After reviewing the possible options that I could make and submit, the Amuse Bouche, One Bite Steak with a Frite and Shallot Jam was the winner for me.

To make it my own I  decided to make a version that uses a crisp potato pancake as the base while adding a filling that is compiled of cream cheese, sour cream, and chives.  The piece of resistancé is the bite of beef simply seasoned and topped with a balsamic and Vidalia onion reduction.

This dish is definitely a party starter and I hope you will enjoy it as much as I have making and eating it!

Que Sera Sera ,

Jennifer

RECIPES

Crispy Potato Cakes
I located the recipe on Epicurious ( a great source for recipes) and did not make any changes, so to get the recipe and print please click on the link; Crispy Traditional Pancakes.

Cream Cheese Mixture
2 ounces softened cream cheese or in my case Neufatel Cheese
3 Tablespoons of reduced fat sour cream
1 Tablespoon of fresh chives, chopped

Directions:  In a small bowl add all ingredients and mix until there are no lumps. I used a fork and some good old fashioned elbow grease. Refrigerate until ready to assemble.

Balsamic Vidalia Reduction
1/2 onion sliced
1 teaspoon
1 cup of Balsamic Vinegar
1 teaspoon of honey
2 teaspoons of sugar
3 Tablespoons of Sherry Cooking Wine (or use what ever wine you have on hand)

Directions:  In a small saucepan caramelize onions in olive oil. Raise temperature to a high heat and add balsamic, honey, sugar, and Sherry. Boil down mixture until it resembles a syrup ( approximately 12 -15 minutes. Be sure to consistently stir mixture. If mixture becomes too thick simply add more Sherry wine until you get a resemblance to syrup. Set Aside

Steak
Season and cook steak how you prefer, set aside on a plate once finished cooking and let rest for five minutes and then slice. You can do small slices or large slices … you are the artist of this canvas.

Assembly
To plate simply place the potato cake first then add the cream cheese mixture. You can use a plastic bag filled with the cream cheese mixture and after cutting of a tip, pipe on the filling. Place steak bite on the filling and top with Balsamic Vidalia Reduction. Give yourself a pat on the back and serve.

9 responses »

  1. What a fun post! I love to hear about food lovers connecting through the recipes and events on Kitchen PLAY. Your version of this dish looks and sounds delicious. I’m not sure I could exercise moderation if served these!

    Thanks for playing and good luck!

    Best,
    Casey

    Reply
  2. Yummy!! Jenn, this looks amazing! I am such a meat and potatoes girl — so, this made me smile completely… not to mention, I am trying to get reacquainted with our mutual frenemy moderation, so this recipe called right out to me.

    I’ve already printed it out and will let you know if I make and if it comes out even remotely close to yours (which I doubt)… thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • I hope you love it as much as i did … I did use a biscuit cutter to get a perfectly round shape for my photo. 🙂 You can have a few “bites” with a nice salad and glass of wine. 🙂

      Reply
  3. I just love your photography… I have to tell you. That shot makes me want to eat my screen… The idea of a perfect one bite is so interesting. You’d really have to think about maximizing the flavor in just on tiny portion. Looks like you did that! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  4. This is quite genius! The potato pancake looks delicious just in and of itself

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Bite Steak

Leave a comment