RSS Feed

Apple Turnovers

Posted on

Apple Turnovers

Happy April!

Spring has sprung and then Winter came back to have the last laugh. Ha Ha. Since Winter came back to have it’s last laugh I decided that I had a chance to do one last hearty dessert hence Apple Turnovers. This is a quick and easy dessert.

If you have puff pastry, apple pie filling, and confectioners sugar then you have everything needed to make these yum-ables. Now if you have some raisins and dulce de leche you can kick this dessert up another notch … BAM! I couldn’t resist that Emeril-ism.

This creation was an excuse to use puff pastry, plain and simple. I know what puff pastry is and I know that the Pepperidge Farms Apple Turnovers that I love to buy from time to time features puff pastry yet I have never bought or used puff pastry on my own. Now that can of worms have been opened, I have a plethora of ideas I want to try with puff pastry including making my own puff pastry.

Did you know by making my own Apple Turnovers I get more bang for my buck? For the cost of four turnovers I was able to make EIGHT TURNOVERS and I still have a sheet of puff pastry dough left! How you like me now?!

If you like your desserts with an outer crunch, warm fruity center, and a sweet glaze on top then this is your dish! Apple Turnovers is a favorite of my Roomie and I. It’s our snack of choice when we would have lazy weekend movie marathons.

Riddle me this what is your movie of choice if you were to have a movie marathon?


Until Next Time,
Jennifer

Apple Turnovers
This is not a recipe per say; more like some steps to make your own Apple Turnovers.
Preheat oven to 425F.
1. One puff pastry sheet thawed.
2. One can of Apple Pie Filling; separate the apples from the sauce and dice apples.
3. Return diced apples to the sauce and season according to your taste. (I used
cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar, allspice.)
4. Add 1/4 cup raisins to the apple filling and stir. Set Aside.
5. Cut Puff Pastry into eight triangular pieces. (To achieve the eight pieces I first cut a
left diagonal, right diagonal, a middle vertical cut, and finally a middle horizontal cut)
6. On each piece of puff pastry spoon approximately a Tablespoon of filling in the center
and fold over the dough using your fingertips to seal. Set on either a greased or lined
baking sheet.
7. After oven preheats reset temperature to 400 F and bake turnovers for approximately
20 to 25 minutes; pastry should rise and brown.
8. While baking mix up glaze by adding one and half cups of confectioners sugar, one
tablespoon light corn syrup, two teaspoons of water and mix until it resembles the
consistency of liquid glue. If too thick continue to add water by the teaspoon. To
make a Dulce de Leche glaze substitute the corn syrup for one tablespoon of Dulce de
Leche. Set aside.
9. Remove turnovers from the oven and let cool for at least 30 minutes. Taking a fork;
dip fork into the glaze and go across turnovers in a left to right motion – should create
some “artistic” lines. Let the glaze set at least five minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

