RSS Feed

Nutella Chocolate Toffee Cookies


Nutella Chocolate Toffee Cookies

… and I return.

I had this elaborate plan back in January to do at least two posts a week and well I did fantastic the first week and then …

I am great at time management when I am managing others’ time yet when it comes down to myself I suck. Would you believe I have been sucked up in a soap opera? It’s the sad actual truth. Long story short my favorite character on Y&R (The Young and the Restless) was shot and killed on the soap and I (think I) am grieving and campaigning.

I have a total nerdy part of my life that I try to keep secret but sometimes it escapes and seeps into my real life. *head falls to chest*

However, this post is not about my secret soapy life it is about cookies … rich, chocolatey, nutty, toffee laden cookies. Perfect for your Valentine or in my case a Anti- Valentine’s Day celebration.

These cookies were going to be my submittal to Dessert Wars January Challenge – Nutella. Then with my time issues, soap opera tragedies, and lack of sun it did not happen.

I am still a novice when it comes to this photo taking so I don’t have ego lights, tripod, or anything else the more professional photographer might have; I am a woman with a camera and the sun is my light. When my light decides to go in hiding for long periods of time then that can be problematic (another reason to move to California).

These cookies would be great with a large glass of milk, your favorite hot or cold coffee drink, or better yet a nice glass of cold water. Yes, these cookies can help you get in your daily requirement of water. I am only thinking about you. 😉

If you want to show your love through baking then this is your recipe! You know what they say, chocolate is an aphrodisiac. *eyebrow wiggle*

Until Next Time!

Jennifer

Nutella Chocolate Toffee Cookies

Adapted from Bon Appetit‘s Giant Chocolate Toffee Cookies

Ingredients:
½ cup all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4  teaspoon salt

1/2  cup of Nutella

1 bag of Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate (11.5 oz)

¼ cup of butter (½ stick)

1 3/4  cups brown sugar (packed)

4 large eggs, room temperature

1 tablespoon vanilla bean paste

5 regular sized Toffee Bars (I used Heath), roughly chopped

1 cup of toasted chopped hazelnuts

Directions:

In a microwave safe bowl combine butter and chocolate and melt at 50% power for approx 2:30 in the microwave (every microwave is different so my suggestion is to start at 1:00 and continue until ingredients have melted.) Once melted stir in Nutella and set aside to let cool.
In a small bowl add flour, baking powder, and salt. Whisk until blended.

Using your mixer (stand or hand) cream the sugar and eggs together; add the eggs one at a time. After sugar and eggs have been combined then mix in vanilla along with the melted Nutella chocolate mixture; mix well.

Stir in flour, toffee, and nuts. Refrigerate batter from 45 minutes to an hour.

Preheat oven to 350F. Line your large baking sheet with parchment paper and using a medium size scooper or large spoon drop dough onto the baking sheets. Be sure to allow sufficient space between the cookies.

Bake for approximately 15 minutes and allow to cool on the baking sheet. Cookies should be crackly and dry while the inside will be nice and soft.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Nutella Chocolate Toffee Cookies « Licious: A Food Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Jennifer, those were DELICIOUS!!!! Cookie Monster would lose his mind after eating one of those!!! Thank you!

    Reply
  3. YUMMMM! perfect cookies combo!! its a must try for me!

    Reply
    • They are sooooo good and rich! Thanks for taking the time to comment. I love your blog, by the way! I even picked up some Custard Powder to add to my next batch of cupcakes thanks to you. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

