RSS Feed

Slammin’

Posted on


Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, originally uploaded by Jenn_Egg.

When did my Mom become replaced by a 90’s rap star? Why was she texting me to tell me something was slammin’? Actually she told me they were slamming (she hasn’t earned her street cred yet). My Mom is just so jiggy she doesn’t even know it. LOL

The “slamming” to which she was referring to was Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. These Oatmeal Raisin Cookies are indeed spectacular! They are soft, sweet, and filled with oats and raisins. I know that Oatmeal Raisin goodness is not for everyone and I have an answer to that – an Oatmeal Triple Chocolate cookie that I will share as this blog progresses over time.

I love making cookies from scratch – the entire process! Yes, secretly I want to be Betty Crocker Soccer Mom – I just want to do it on my schedule and I haven’t learned how to squeeze that into 30 minutes. Luckily, I have family and co-workers to spoil with my domesticity.

I have learned that for a great cookie it is best to let cookie dough chill – of course there are exceptions to the rule but for the most part CHILL YOUR COOKIE DOUGH. I am partial to chilling cookie dough for a full 24 hours.

I hope that you will find these cookies as yummy as I do!

Happy Eating!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Adapted from Savory Sweet Life; The Best Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe EVER

1 stick of margarine, softened
1 stick of salted butter, softened
½ c sugar
1 ½ c packed dark brown sugar
2 eggs
2 t. vanilla bean paste
1 t. cinnamon
¼ t. nutmeg
3 c pastry flour
1 t. of ground sea salt
1 t. baking soda
1 ½ t. baking powder
1 c. raisins, soaked
2 ¼ c. rolled oats

Cream margarine, butter, sugar, and brown sugar until it is nicely incorporated together (should be fluffy). Mix in eggs, vanilla bean paste, cinnamon, and nutmeg (should be airy – like whip cream). Alternately add flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder and stir until items have been mixed. I tend to mix the dry ingredients into the wet by hand but feel free to use your favorite mixer or food processor. Next add the oatmeal and soaked raisins. Soaked raisins are simply raisins I have soaked in hot water for approximately 30 minutes — makes for a plumper raisin. Transfer dough to a covered container and chill from 6 to 24 hours.

Baking the cookies!

Preheat oven to 360 Fahrenheit. Use your favorite cookie scoop or spoon and drop cookies onto baking sheet. Bake cookies for 12-14 minutes. Let cool and enjoy!

PRINT FRIENDLY

Leave a Reply

